How to update Capture One?

Comments

43 comments

  • jan zonneveld

    Hi Lily,

    Thanks for the answer. Can you please answer my third question. I can’t remember were I read it, but I read on the CO site that when you work with Apple version Big Sur in combination with CO pro 13.1.3 the software CO pro will be damaged. And then download the newest version, 13.1.4 as a clean version CO pro, in my situation for Sony. 
    I hope that you understand my question in bad English.

    greetings Jan

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Lily

    Hi Jan,

    If you want to update from Capture One 20 (13.1.3) to Capture One 20 (13.1.4), it is not necessary to deactivate it.

    It is recommended to keep one version of Capture One on your computer, so the old application file should be deleted when you get the new one. Then download Capture One 20 (13.1.4) , install it, and then launch it to continue working with your images.

    Read more about updating from one service release to another here:

    How to update Capture One?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • FirstName LastName

    @Capture One Support: is there a timeline or plans to simplify the software update process and bring it in line with the rest of the industry? I notice that some of the comments about this were made 6 months ago... so are there plans to change the update process... and, if so, when are we likely to see these implemented?

    Apart from that... wonderful product!

    thanks.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Rick McDonald

    Hi,

    Most of the info in the string is months old so I am not sure if the procedure to upgarde from an earlier version is still applicable.

    I am currently running Version 12.1 (in windows) Fuji perpetual license with 3 styles. I have paid for the upgrade license to Version 21 but did not re-purchase any styles as I have previously paid for them.

    My question is, if I follow the windows install procedure as detailed above, will I loose all of my preferences that I have set up in version 12 and my styles? It sounds to me that C1 is treating this as a complete new install using the above method as opposed to an upgrade. Especially since you have recommended to uninstall the previous version prior to activating the new version.

    Can you elaborate and clarify this please?

    Thanks,

    Rick

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Lily

    Hi Rick,

    When you get Capture One 21 installed on your computer, it will be treated as a totally new application.

    You do not have to re-purchase styles. All of them are stored in the Application Support folder.

    When you open Capture One 21, you will see all your Styles in the Styles and Presets tool under User Styles.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Lily

    Hi Rick,

    As for the custom settings, you may save them as a Workspace (Window -> Workspace -> Save Workspace in the main menu) and then load it in Capture One 21.

    As for such settings as the color of mask, the color of the Viewer background, and others set in the Preferences, those won't be saved, so you will have to set them again in Capture One 21.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Rick McDonald

    Hi Lily,

    Thank you for your answer. That clarifies the workspace problem but you never answered about the other items.

    1. What happens with the styles I previously purchased when I upgrade to version 21? Are they automatically loaded into the new version?

     

    2. Has the procedure to upgrade in windows remained the same as outlined in the current FAQ's?

    Thank you,

    Rick

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Rick McDonald

    Hi Lily,

    Disregard my previous email. I missed your first response about the styles.

    Thank you for your assistance.

    Rick

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Wayne Shumaker

    Trying to reactive new install and I get "Unable to connect to server to lookup profile" I have logged into website so I know it is there. What do I need to do to use this version?
    PS, diagnostic says Test 05: Failed

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Paul Frocchi

    Hi Lilly

    Probably buried in these replies somewhere, so I apologize in advance.

    When Updating, we should always UNINSTALL first?  

    I'm having some issues where I when I tried to 'Edit In' Photoshop I can no longer get all selected images to open in PS (the edit all icon is selected)  

    Hoping by updating and re-installing this may sort it out.  

    Thanks again

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Gary

    Hi Lily and the Capture One team

    I hope you would consider simplifying the update process. In its current state, it is complicated and not user-friendly. First, the download page does not provide release notes. Second, we are recommended to uninstall each time an update comes out. Third, after going through the setup wizard we are also prompted that we must restart our computers.

    Many standalone apps (Google Chrome, VLC) and app launchers (Microsoft Store, Mac App Store, Steam, Adobe CC) on Windows, Mac, and Linux can self-update apps without requiring restarting. It makes updating more accessible and intuitive. It saves time (such as logging into our accounts and restarting our computers) and lots of clicks. I am not sure why we still need to go through so much trouble, and how this provides an exemplar user experience.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Gary

    Hi Paul

    Yes the answer outlines we should verify the software is not running, and it is recommended to uninstall the program before reinstalling the latest version.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Michel Lam

    How has this process not been simplified yet? This is 90s procedures at best. Incredibly clunky, unintuitive, and not user-friendly at all, especially for a paid software.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.