How to fix after 'cannot save session' warning?

Comments

6 comments

  • Paul Steunebrink
    Hi Tom, welcome to the forum. I think you just answered your own question and you can test this yourself. If moving the entire session does not work (and I assume it does not), only move the image plus adjustments files to the other session on the other computer.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Thomas45
    Hi Paul,
    Thanks for replying to my question: I recreated a session in the place where i wanted to keep it and brought the actual image files and the image settings files into the new session. All worked fine, so the problem is solved!

    Just as I was about to try out the version 4 upgrades I read that version 5 has been released, so I must decide what to do about that. One thing more I would ask: do you know if image settings files from version 3 can be used in version 4 or 5 so that I don't have to keep an old version of the software for any retrospective edits to older RAW files?

    Best wishes,
    Tom
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Paul Steunebrink
    [quote="Thomas45" wrote:
    One thing more I would ask: do you know if image settings files from version 3 can be used in version 4 or 5 so that I don't have to keep an old version of the software for any retrospective edits to older RAW files?

    No, unfortunately not. Version 4 adjustments are retained in 5 but v3 is on its own.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Thomas45
    Thanks again, Paul.

    In your experience of this software, what would be the best practical way round the problem of v.3 not transferring its RAW adjustment files to the newer v.4 and v.5?

    1. Is there a simple way of keeping more than one version on a computer - and still retaining the ability to have two PRO installations in total (ie can you have say v.3 and v.5 each on two computers without paying twice)?

    2. Do you think most users would simply import the old RAW files into the new application and start all over again if needed? This could be time-consuming!

    I appreciate your help as you have clearly spent some time getting familiar with the C1 software. Many of my associates urge me to use a purely Photoshop and Lightroom workflow, but I like the conversions I get from C1 and the logical steps in C1 and don't want to keep switching software.

    Best wishes,
    Tom
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Paul Steunebrink
    You can have CO3 and 5 on the same or on different computers and activated as long as you have activations (or go through a deactivation cycle from the web site which will regain you 2 activations). Note that CO3 is supported with Leopard, not Snow Leopard.

    That said, my day-to-day practice is that I do not bother about CO3 and its conversions. I either use the TIFF/JPEGs I created with the software or go through a rework for better quality. Both the program (CO5) as well as my skills (to a lesser extend of course) has improved over time. I have been working from CO1 since 2003, made a shift from Win to Mac, moved from CO3 to 4 about 2 years ago, and am now on 5. I never looked back, always forwards. No regrets.

    I never listen when others urge me to do what they do; it is to their benefit not mine. Adobe products are fine, they are main stream products with main stream results. Capture One excels as a niche product. And the main stream crowd say 'wow how did you do that' when they see the result. Up to you to decide.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Mark711
    Hey Tom,

    In reference to the moving of sessions between computers using v3.x.x I do it all of the time. I shoot from either a laptop or an iMac and then move the finished sessions to a RAID on my server which I access from a G5 Tower over gigabit ethernet for final processing. When moving the session to the new computer just double click the session file and it will launch the app and add to the session menu. With the issue of the "Can't save session..." warning I had this issue of orphaned sessions also so I wrote a small app using Applescript call "Capture One Pro Session Manager" which you can download for free using the following link


    or see this thread




    When it runs it reads what sessions are currently in the session menu then removes the entries for sessions that are in the menu but no longer in the location they were. Then it lets you select from sessions that are valid that you want to keep in the menu and what session should be active on the next launch. The "Read Me" included with the download will give you more specific instructions. This has not been tested with v4 or v5 and I highly doubt it works with them. Works fine with v3.x.x of PRO or DB.

    Cheers,
    Mark
    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.