How to take over the edit data from Ver.12 to Ver 10

Comments

3 comments

  • SFA

    The updates applied to V12 over V10 mean the data is not backwards compatible.

    So the answer is no - it is not practically possible.

    You can, however, take V10 edits to V12 but again it is a one way trip in most situations I can think of.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • 章 赤松

    Thanks you for the answer SFA.
    Yes it always is one way trip for me now.
    So then ,if I updated Ver 10 to Ver 20(have Ver 12 and Ver 20) , can I get a round ticket or still have a one way ticket?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • SFA

    Any version upgrade usually comes with changes that apply to the data stored in the file management database (Either a catalog database or a session database depedning on what you have used - both types will have internal changes) and also in the Edit instructions "files" plus, sometimes, a number of other values in settings anf definition files used by the system.

     

    Capture One will, as part of an upgrade (or an in-version update when necessary) make copies of previous catalogs and session files and save other information that is version specific. This is especially evident in the case of V20 when using sessions but has been the approach used for some time.

    Assuming users do not delete that information it makes it possible return to using an old version should there be a need to do so, and retain all of the settings and edits just as they were when it was last used.

    However, if a catalog or session only exists in a later format the earlier version will not be able to recognise it successfully or work with it due to the internal data changes. So no edits made in later versions can be seen by older versions simply because there is a strong chance that something has changed and the result may not be as expected.

    Newer versions can still make use of the image "processing engine" used for edits in earlier versions and that means older edits can still be interpreted and processed just as they were even if the newer engines would interpret the values differently.  However if you start a completely new edit of an image or variant from an old session or catalog (or simply update the processing engine of an existing edit) you cannot choose to then change the processing engine back to an earlier version.

    So in effect things are always one way for new versions BUT you can keep edits from old version unchanged in new versions and C1 will automatically save old version of the data which would then allow you to run the older version catalogs and sessions and re-open them just as they were should that be necessary for some reason.

    V12 and V20 both contain the internal processing engines for edits back as far as V6.

     

    https://support.captureone.com/hc/en-us/articles/360002595298-Re-render-images-using-a-legacy-engine 

     

    This opens up some possibilities for editing images in a new version but using an older processing engine. However it is difficult to think of any normal situations where that might be really necessary.

     

    It's also not an answer to moving complete catalogs or sessions between computers using different versions if backwards compatibility is required.

     

    HTH.

     

    Grant

     

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.