Capture One allows you to delete source images and all their variants immediately from all Collections and even Albums, bypassing both the Catalog/Session Trash and permanently deleting the images from the disk. This option is provided for users to delete unwanted source images as quickly as possible in their workflow. This command cannot be undone. An image and its variants are considered a source image by Capture One, therefore, whether you are deleting an image with one variant or all the variants of an image, you will also be deleting the source image.
To prevent the unnecessary moving of source images in a Session (when the images are located on a different disk} to the Session Trash, the Delete from Disk command should also be used instead of the Delete/Move to Session Trash commands. Moving source image files from one disk to another may take a long time to complete, especially if those are located on a network drive.
Note that the physical relocation of referenced source images does not occur with the Delete/Move to Catalog Trash commands. However, you can still adopt the Delete from Disk command when working in a Catalog. If the source image file is not available (i.e., offline) (for example, it is located on an unconnected external disk), then it will not be deleted.
- Select the image and its variant or variants in the Browser.
- Choose Immagine -> Elimina dal Disco. A dialog appears asking to confirm the action.
- Click on the Elimina dal Disco button.
- This will result in the permanent deletion of your source images and their variants. This cannot be undone.