Skip to main content

Opening old sessions

Comments

10 comments

  • Ian Wilson
    Moderator
    Top Commenter

    It should be possible to upgrade a session without a problem. A few questions - 

    • what version are you upgrading the session from (if you know - sometimes it just says "an older version of Capture One, as I recall)
    • what version are you upgrading it to?
    • what is the error message it comes up with?
    • are you on Mac or Windows? And which version of the OS?

    Ian

     

    0
  • G Shand
    • Capture One 22 
    • Capture One Pro
    • Upgrade of the session failed - Failed to upgrade database. An error was encountered during the upgrade of the database >

      The session failed to open. Would you like to run diagnostic checks and attempt repairs if necessary?>

      fix and repair > 

      Database connection OK

       

      Verifying database…

       

      The database needs to be migrated to the newest version before we can continue.

      The database needs to be migrated.

       

      Database verification FAILED

    • Mac - macOSVentura Version 13.0
    • Unfortunately I can't even open the files in the 22 version now

    Cheers, Gavin

    0
  • SFA
    Top Commenter

    Gavin,

    Are you opening the database from a desktop link?

    Is the link (or a new link) updated to point to the updated database rather than the saved and renamed previous version?

    0
  • Ian Wilson
    Moderator
    Top Commenter

    (1) When the session was upgraded, Capture One should have created a backup of the session file in the old format. Can you open that with the old version.

    (2) Actually with a session, you may not have lost much. The edit information is held in sidecar files in the subfolders of the folder where the images are held, not in the session database. (The main things you would lose from the database would be things like albums and smart albums if you had created any.) You could create a new empty session with the new version, then navigate to the images in their old location, and see whether they look OK. It can't do them any harm.

    Ian

    0
  • G Shand

    SFA: Opening from a hard drive link but also trying to through file> open after opening Capture One. With the 22 version I am getting the following:

    An unrecoverable error was encountered while working with the session's database.

    unable to open database file

    The session will now close. 

     

    And then Capture One just crashes.

    Sorry I'm not too sure what you mean here "Is the link (or a new link) updated to point to the updated database rather than the saved and renamed previous version?" I haven't renamed any of the previous sessions.

     

    Unfortunately I don't have the backup session files mentioned Ian.

     

    Cheers,

    Gavin

    0
  • Ian Wilson
    Moderator
    Top Commenter

    So if you don't have backup sessions, try what I saiid in number (2).

    Ian 

    0
  • G Shand

    As in the proxies? So it would be a case of setting up new sessions and then having to import all these again?

     

    0
  • Ian Wilson
    Moderator
    Top Commenter

    No, no. There's no need to import them again. Just create an empty session and in the Capture One library tool find the folder where the image files are stored. If all is well, they should show up complete with their existing adjustments. If that is so, you can (still in the library tool) drag them to the appropriate folders in your new session (Capture, Selects, etc).

    Ian

    0
  • G Shand

    Ah got you. That seems to do the trick. Thanks very much.

    0
  • SFA
    Top Commenter

    The first time a new version of C1 is asked to open a session from a previous version of C1 (possibly going back a number of versions) it will usually create a copy of the original cosessiondb file (with a name indicating it has been saved as a backup ready to be renamed and re-used if necessary) and then create a new cosessiondb file updated to what is required for the new version.

    If one has a reference to the old file - via a desktop shortcut icon or a "Recent" session reference in the previous activities list - the target file will, typically, no longer exist. The original file will have been renamed and the new file will have a new name.  So the new file, typically, will need to be selected afresh upon first usage. Or thereafter from the "Recents" list. Or create a new desktop icon if used. Or edit the previous desktop icon.

    Simply opening C1, from a desktop shortcut, will automatically attempt to open the last session it is recorded as having been opened. That, of course, may be the now updated and renamed session - depending on what one did immediately after the earlier update activity.

    Or, sometimes, something else may have happened within the computer system when the update was first in progress and a session was being converted that might have caused some unexpected glitch in the session update process.

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.