Loss of all edits, AGAIN

Comments

5 comments

  • Walter Rowe
    Are you copying the entire enclosing session folder? All the adjustments and metadata are in the CaptureOne folder inside the Capture, Selects, etc, folders.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • NNN636547779233695174
    Yes, I'm copying the entire encompassing folder. But still, this is happening on the original folder where the session was originally captured, before copying the session to the external. It happened in the original location and the copied location. It is literally like watching the session rewind in front of your eyes.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • ericnepean
    The way this is behaving its almost as if the editting information is only in Capture Ones "memory" - the RAM it is using - and has not been yet written to the disk.when you copy the session folder.

    Has Capture One been running when you copy the session folder? If so try exitting Capture One, and double checking that it is no longer running, before using Finder to copy the session folder.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • NNN636547779233695174
    @Eric I'll test this out with some dummy sessions. If this is the case, is there a way to avoid it? Can you think of a reason that the edits would be held in RAM and not actually written and saved?
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • ericnepean
    That kind of behaviour depends on just how the SW team designed their SW, how they have defined expected behaviour (use cases), and how they write the code, and what they test when they conduct verification.

    You would think that after editing of an image is completed, the edits should be immediately written to the database on disk, but there are many ways for such a thing to be delayed, for example if there are several images open in the viewer then slightly bad logic might result in edits not being updated to disk when one image is closed and another is till open.
    In complex systems (like C1) there are sometimes unexpected interactions (dependencies) that can prevent expected behaviour.

    Food for thought:
    How does the SW determine when you have finished editing an Image? When an image that has been editted is no longer in the viewer.
    When must the SW absolutely update (last chance) the edits to disk? When you close the document (close the session window)
    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.