Complete loss of edits in session, C1 12

Comments

9 comments

  • Ian Wilson
    Do you have some setting that it syncing ratings with some other app? In Preferences, in the Image tab, there is a setting for Metadata. I have Auto Sync Sidecar XMP set to Never. If you have it set to Full sync, then it can happen that the ratings you have set in Capture One are over-written by ratings set somewhere else (depending on how you have set the two checkboxes under that).

    Ian
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Paul Steunebrink
    It seems that the images or the image folder are disconnected from the sidecar files in the adjacent ../CaptureOne /Settings120 subfolder.

    Regarding your reported software version, two tips.
    1) be more progressive with updating Capture One; you are running an older version that is not compatible with macOS Catalina.
    2) be much more conservative with upgrading macOS; as mentioned, your macOS is way ahead of your version of Capture One.

    To close the gap, update to 12.1.5, which offers Catalina support, although up to 10.15.1. If you like to continue with Catalina, make sure to upgrade to Capture One 20.
    The link: https://www.captureone.com/en/account/download-previous
    You need to login with your account.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • NNN636547779233695174
    @Ian3 My Auto Sync Sidecar XMP is set to "None", but below that "Prefer Sidecar XMP over embedded metadata" is checked. Is this an issue?
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Ian Wilson
    [quote="NNN636547779233695174" wrote:
    @Ian3 My Auto Sync Sidecar XMP is set to "None", but below that "Prefer Sidecar XMP over embedded metadata" is checked. Is this an issue?

    If it's set to None, the checkboxes have no effect. They only govern what happens if it's set to something apart from None.

    Ian
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • NNN636547779233695174
    @Ian3
    So here is a bit more detail that maybe means something. So maybe I am understanding how this works, and I'll learn something here. I had the session on my laptop and on my desktop. I made changes on the laptop and wanted to bring those over to the desktop. I assumed I didn't need to update the raw files, just the C1 folders. I brought over and replaced the .cosessiondb file and I also brought over and replaced the entire "CaptureOne" folder inside the Capture folder. I reopened the session on the desktop with the changes and all the changes were present. I then began the majority of editing.

    After bringing all the C1 files over and using the existing raw files, everything seemed great, until this morning when things were lost. Is my understanding of the database process incorrect, and do you think what I did caused something to be unstable?
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • NNN636547779233695174
    @Paul_Steunebrink
    So I can upgrade to C1 12.1.5 and that offers Catalina support, but only up to 10.15.1, so my OS would need to be reverted back a step. OR I need to upgrade to C1 v20?
    Thanks!
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Paul Steunebrink
    [quote="NNN636547779233695174" wrote:
    @Paul_Steunebrink
    So I can upgrade to C1 12.1.5 and that offers Catalina support, but only up to 10.15.1, so my OS would need to be reverted back a step. OR I need to upgrade to C1 v20?
    Thanks!

    As of this moment, both 12.1.5 and 20.0.2 officially support Catalina up to 10.15.1. However, Capture One 20 will be developed with Catalina updates in mind, and version 12 will not.

    So while on 12, go to 12.1.5 and plan an upgrade to CO 20 in the near future.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Paul Steunebrink
    [quote="NNN636547779233695174" wrote:
    I did caused something to be unstable?

    Yes, next time copy over the entire session from the parent session folder, the four default folders inside it and optionally any additional folder you created and their CaptureOne subfolders. Everything.

    This is the concept and will make sure everything stays in sync and nothing gets broken.

    Alternatively, you can create a shortcut to copying with an EIP workflow. You pack your raw and adjustments into an EIP package.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Sean Murphy
    Packaging as EIP is a great way to work with files on multiple computers. We use this in our studio workflow and it works great 99% of the time. Do note, though, that we have experienced some hiccups where ratings and crops have been applied on one computer, reviewed on a second computer (and possibly some edits made), then when moved to a third computer the settings are missing. Move the EIP package back to the original computer and edits are visible again.

    We've reported this to the CO team but it occasionally happens and we need to re-make the edits on the final, editing computer.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.