Update to 14.0.2 deletes Workspace

Comments

6 comments

  • SFA

    Martin,

    Was this a workspace you saved with a name you provided or did you save a modified version of a default Workspace provided at installation?

     

    If the latter more often than not be replaced with each update.

    If you saved one with your own name and you can't see that as an available Workspace, that's an entirely different matter that needs to be investigated.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • MartinG

    Hi,

    I stored my personal Workplace like this:  "Window" - "Workplace" - "Save Workplace" - <Martin>

    That's all!

    Thanks!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • SFA

    So have you found it again now?

    I'm not familiar with Mac but with Windows there is an entry in the Appdata folders (per user) for all of the user created values for tools, etc. and this is them, typically, also stored by Version and release where such a division is deemed useful.

    However a "Last Used State" is to be found, per session or catalog, in the plist (Mac) or user.config file (Windows) and that will be what is offered on next use provided it is recognised. So update to a new release on a machine and everything should carry forward.

    A new Version may result in a different outcome depending on the application changes and how the version upgrade is undertaken.

    An installation on a new system is likely to mean starting with fresh user settings file. However other forms of user generated settings values are usually portable when necessary.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • MartinG

    No, I have recreated my Workplace and stored it under the same name.I found the .PLIST file and saved it. If this happens again, I will try to restore the file if it is no longer there.

    If the Structure of this File changes within an Update so the Workplace will be overwritten by the Updat, it would be nice to know that. It's not difficult to create a new Workplace, but it's not easy to remember the exact Position of all Windows / Tools.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Marco Hyman

    I use a workspace named "Marc".  Often when Capture One is updated the starting workspace is the default workspace instead of the "Marc" workspace.  I use the Window -> Workspace menu and select the "Marc" workspace.   All is well.  Mostly.

    That's when I find out I'd made changes but never got around to re-saving my "Marc" workspace after.   So I make the changes again and save them.  One of these days I'll remember to re-save the workspace I'm using immediately prior to updating.   Maybe. ;)

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • MartinG

    Hi Marc,

    I tried this as you did! But in my case there was no Workspace named "Martin" anymore. 

    Thanks!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.