The workflow is identical when deleting images from either Catalog or Session Collections (i.e. Folders in the Library other than Albums).
When you delete one image with one variant or an image and all of its variants, Capture One moves the image and its variant or variants to the Catalog/Session Trash. The source image and its variant or variants located elsewhere (e.g., in Albums, Favorites, and other Collections) are also moved to the Catalog/Session Trash, pending permanent deletion.
Luckily, the Delete command can be undone (Edit -> Undo Move To Trash) or images can be moved back by dragging to the relevant Collection or Folder in the Library.
To prevent the unnecessary moving of source images in a Session when the images are located on a different disk to the Session Trash, the Delete from Disk command should be used instead of the Delete (Move to Session Trash)/Move to Session Trash commands. Moving source image files from one disk to another may take a long time to complete, especially if those are located on a network. Source images are deleted immediately. This cannot be undone.
- Select the Collection.
- From the browser, select the image and its variant or variants to delete, then choose Image -> Delete (Move To Catalog/Session Trash or press Cmd+backspace, press X in the toolbar or cursor tool or drag images to the Catalog/Session Trash). Note that there is no warning dialog displayed in that case.
- Selected images are moved to the Catalog/Session Trash.
- Emptying the image variants from the Catalog/Session Trash from the File menu may result in the permanent deletion of your source images. This cannot be undone.