When a source image is not available for Capture One (e.g., typically when referenced in a Catalog and the source image is moved using the Finder or Explorer or an external disk containing the source image is not connected), the variant in the browser displays a small question mark (?) icon in the lower-right corner of the thumbnail. In addition, the variant in the Viewer shows the same icon along with the warning "Offline".
When deleting an image and its variant or variants referencing an offline source image, Capture One moves only the variant or variants to the Catalog Trash, pending emptying and permanent deletion. As the source image is not immediately accessible, it cannot be removed from the Trash and deleted until the drive is reconnected.
When deleting specific variants of an image referencing an offline source image, only the selected variants are deleted from the Catalog, the source image and any other variants of that image are not deleted. In that context, the Delete (Move to Catalog Trash) command changes to Delete (Variant/s).
- Select the image and its variant or variants in the browser and then choose from one of the following options:
- In the main menu, select Image -> Delete (Move to Catalog Trash).
- Ctrl/right-click (Mac/Windows) and select Delete (Move to Catalog Trash) from the contextual menu.
- Click on the Delete (X) icon in the main toolbar.
- Click and drag an image to the Catalog Trash.
- The variant or variants of the image are moved to the Catalog Trash.
- If you select File -> Empty Catalog Trash... A dialog opens asking you to Remove from Catalog (i.e., only the variant or variants are deleted) or Cancel.
- If you reconnect the drive and select Empty Catalog Trash..., a warning dialog will open to ask you to confirm whether you want to Delete from Disk (i.e., delete the variant or variants and the source image) or Remove from Catalog (i.e., delete the variant or variants and leave the source image in its original location).