I have just installed the latest version of Capture One. Can I also keep the previous version of Capture One on my computer?
It is generally recommended that you only install one version of Capture One on a single computer.
NOTE: Before uninstalling the older version of Capture One, make backups of your catalogs and sessions you plan to work on in further.
Running two versions of Capture One on the same machine is not recommended because that may cause erratic behaviour of the software and some other issues such as:
- Upgraded Catalogs/Sessions won't open in the earlier versions of the software. However, if your Catalog/Session was created in Capture One 12 and then upgraded in Capture One 20, you can still revert back by restoring those from a backup. Find out how to restore a Catalog database or recover a Session from a backup.
- While two Capture One versions are installed on the same machine, the files from both versions are kept in the same system folders. This may cause unstable and erratic behavior of your photo editing software.