Capture One Live allows you to share multiple collections of images online with anybody who has access to a web browser with an active internet connection. It is a great way for people on set, or those working remotely, to follow images as they come into Capture One Pro when shooting tethered or when working with a collection of images that requires group input.
Verify that you are running the latest version of Capture One Pro – using an older version will limit, or provide unsupported functionality
To check your current version of Capture One, go to...
Mac: Capture One (top-left of your display) > About Capture One
Win: Help > License
The following window will appear:
Capture One Live button (Share online) is available in the default workspace:
If you wish to add it to your customized workspace (or it does not appear) you can follow the usual process of customizing the toolbar, by right-clicking on the toolbar and selecting Customize Toolbar...
- After selecting Customize Toolbar a pop-up with different icons will appear
- Navigate to the icon called Share online
- Drag and drop the Share online icon onto the Toolbar wherever you prefer
- Press Done to save your choice
Now Capture One Live is available in your workspace and ready to use.
How to create a Live Session
In order to create a Live Session you need to have either a Session Folder or an Album if you are working in a Session, or an Album if you are working in a Catalog.
Right-click on a Folder or Album and select Share online
When creating an Album, tick the box which says Share online with Live
Click the Share online icon from the Toolbar and then select the Collection (which is an Album or Image Folder) you wish to share from the dropdown menu at the top of the dialog.
N.B. Smart Albums are currently unsupported with Capture One Live
Sharing a Live Session
You will then be presented with the following window, where it's possible to control the following:
Copy link to share with others online
Share via email address
View your online session in a web browser
Once you have begun sharing the online collection, you can manage it and indeed any other collections, by going to the Share online icon in the Toolbar and selecting Manage Access.
Within this menu it is also possible to create new online sessions. Simply select the collection you wish to share from the dropdown menu.
Change your watermark settings by clicking the arrow to the left of Watermark Settings (paid subscription only)
You can also see your active online collections, whereby you can manage access settings, copy a link to this online session, and also stop sharing the online collection.
How to stop sharing
The Live Session will stay active for 24 hours (one month if you are a paying subscriber), or until you choose to stop sharing it. You can do so by pressing Stop sharing when accessing the tool from the Toolbar. You'll get a pop-up window asking you to confirm your choice.
If you accept, from now on the images from that Live Session will no longer be available for viewing. The Live Session will disappear from the list of Active Live Collections.
How to join a live session
In order to open the Live Session, all you need to do is copy the link shared by the photographer in a browser on your preferred device.
If the Live Session is not password-protected, it will automatically open and the images will start loading. (From 16.0 onwards, password protection is no longer an option)
If the Live Session is password-protected, then after pasting the web address you will be prompted to insert the password.
During the Live Session, the reviewer can view the photos in your chosen Folder or Collection. They can provide their feedback by star rating, color tagging, and adding their comments.
The reviewer can filter the images based on star-rating or color-tag by pressing the filter icon in the top right corner. A drop-down menu will unfold, and the reviewer can select the option to filter by.
The reviewer can also choose to follow the images that the photographer captured last or edited last by pressing on FOLLOW button in the top right corner.
This is a great solution if you want to focus on the latest image the photographer added or updated and see the changes in real-time - especially during tethered Sessions.
If you want to exit from the Follow mode, you need to exit the full screen by clicking the arrow in the top left corner of the screen or just pressing the Esc button.
Sync changes between Capture One Live and Capture One Pro
If Capture One is exited, restarted, or indeed if the workstation itself is shut down or restarted - then you will need to select 'Resume Sharing' from the Capture One Live menu, once you have re-opened Capture One.
Once this is selected, the changes from your client/viewer will appear in Capture One Pro.
How to change language
The language of the content in the web browser is determined by the default language settings of your browser. If you want to change the language, you can do so by pressing 'EN' in the top right corner to change to a different language. A drop-down menu will unfold with a number of language options.
The number of photos being displayed in the Live Session is automatically limited to improve performance. The most recent photos are always being displayed at the top of the page, and new photos will be automatically added to the top of the browser – no need to refresh!
You can use keyboard shortcuts to star rate and color tag images in a Capture One Live Session.
Star Rating and Color Tagging:
- 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, where '0' resets the rating
- q, w, e, r, t, y, u, I, where 'Q' resets the tag
- Left and right arrow key to navigate to the left and right
- Escape (Esc) key to return to the gallery
Underneath each photo, there is an interactive section with the stars rating and color tags. If someone has already rated or color tagged the photo, the reviewer can see their ratings and color tags. The reviewer can also rate or color tag any photo on the shared Session and when it is done, ratings and tags will overwrite the existing values.
The Live Session ends either when its expiry time is reached, or when the photographer chooses to click on the Stop Sharing button within Capture One. Then all photos are removed from the Live Session and are no longer available.
Keep in mind that if Capture One is closed down while the Live Session is still active, Capture One needs to be launched again before the Live Session expires and you need to click Resume Sharing to avoid losing any ratings and color tags that were added in the meantime.