Capture One Live allows you to share collections of images online with anybody who has access to a web browser with an active internet connection. It is a great way for people on set, or those working remotely, to follow images as they come into Capture One Pro when shooting tethered or when working with a collection of images that requires group input. It is an equally great way to get feedback and selects from your clients after the shoot is done.
Your collaborators, reviewers and client do not need to own Capture One to access the images.
This article contains the following sections:
- Getting started
- Start a Live session by sharing a collection in Capture One Pro
- Join a Live session in a web browser
- Additional information
Verify that you are running the latest version of Capture One Pro – using an older version will limit, or provide unsupported functionality. For details, please see this article: How to download, install, and update Capture One.
The Capture One Live Share online button is available in the default workspace:
If you wish to add it to your customized workspace (or it does not appear) you can follow the usual process of customizing the toolbar, by right-clicking on the toolbar and selecting Customize Toolbar...
- After selecting Customize Toolbar a pop-up with different icons will appear
- Navigate to the icon called Share online
- Drag and drop the Share online icon onto the Toolbar wherever you prefer
- Press Done to save your choice
Now Capture One Live is available in your workspace and ready to use.
Start a Live session by sharing a collection from Capture One Pro
There are 4 ways to share your collections with Live:
- Right-click on a Folder or Album and select Share online:
When creating a session, tick the “Share selects folder online with Live” box
- Click the Share online icon from the Toolbar and then select the Collection (an Album or Folder) you wish to share from the dropdown menu at the top of the dialog:
N.B. Smart Albums are currently unsupported with Capture One Live.
Invite users and manage access
After sharing a collection, you will be presented with a window to tweak a few access options:
- Share via email
Viewing permissions per email or for anyone with the link
Copy share link to share with others
View your online session in a web browser
Once you have begun sharing the online collection, you can manage it and any other collections, by going to the Share online icon in the Toolbar and selecting Manage Access.
Change your watermark settings by clicking the arrow to the left of Watermark Settings (paid subscription only)
You can also see your active online collections, whereby you can manage access settings, copy a link to this online session, and also stop sharing the online collection.
A progress bar shows up on the thumbnail during the upload of the images to the web, so you can be certain that all of them are available to your collaborators. We recommend sharing your folders and albums online as early as you can, so the upload can happen while you are capturing or editing images – with a decent internet connection you should almost never have to see this progress bar.
The online collection will stay active for one month (24 hours if you are a free user), or until you choose to stop sharing it. You can do so by pressing Stop sharing when accessing the tool from the Toolbar. You'll get a pop-up window asking you to confirm your choice.
Join a Live session in a web browser
In order to open the online collection, all you need to do is copy the link in a browser on your preferred device. As a photographer you can also invite reviewers with their emails.
While the collection is online, the reviewers can view the photos in the chosen collection. They can provide their feedback by star rating, color tagging, and adding their comments.
New photos will be automatically added to the online collection – no need to refresh! Similarly, new edits on photos in the share collection will automatically be reflected in the online counterpart.
Sort, Search and Filter
Results from filtering and sorting will not update automatically when new images are coming into the online collection. Refresh the results manually to see the applied filters.
The reviewer can also choose to follow the images that the photographer captured last or edited last by pressing the binoculars button in the top right corner.
This is a great solution if you want to focus on the latest image the photographer added or updated and see the changes in real-time - especially during tethered shoots.
If you want to exit from the Follow mode, you need to exit the full screen by clicking the arrow in the top left corner of the screen or just pressing the esc button.
The language of the content in the web browser is determined by the default language settings of your browser. If you want to change the language, you can do so by clicking the profile icon at the top right corner and then selecting "Language". A drop-down menu will unfold with a number of language options.
You can use keyboard shortcuts to star rate and color tag images in a Capture One Live Session.
Star Rating and Color Tagging:
- 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, where '0' resets the rating
- q, w, e, r, t, y, u, I, where 'Q' resets the tag
- Left and right arrow key to navigate to the left and right
- Escape (Esc) key to return to the gallery
Underneath each photo, there is an interactive section with the stars rating and color tags. If someone has already rated or color tagged the photo, the reviewer can see their ratings and color tags. The reviewer can also rate or color tag any photo on the shared Session and when it is done, ratings and tags will overwrite the existing values.
The online collection ends either when its expiry time is reached, or when the photographer chooses to click on the Stop Sharing button within Capture One. Then all photos are removed from the online collection and are no longer available.
Keep in mind that if Capture One is closed down while the online collection is still active, Capture One needs to be launched again before the Live Session expires to avoid losing any ratings and color tags that were added in the meantime.
In the rare case of an error while trying to upload images to the Live session, an alert icon will be displayed in the Share Online panel, on top of the thumbnail. Clicking it will give you the option to retry uploading the images and will also give you access to a detailed error message.