Capture One Live is a new service that enables easy remote collaboration between photographers and their clients and partners. It allows photographers to instantly share collections of photos with others who can then view, rate, and color tag the photos directly on any device through a web browser. During tethered sessions, photos can be shared in real-time as they are captured. This enables easy, fast, and safe remote collaboration. Additionally, the service can be used as an asynchronous feedback tool, since it allows photographers to have the sharing session active for a day and get feedback any time during that period.
The new Capture One Live tool is available at the bottom of the Capture Tool Tab in the default workspace. If it doesn’t show up for you, you can add it by right-clicking the name of another tool and clicking Add Tool.
1. After adding the tool, when you click on Start Sharing for the first time you will see the pop-up for sign up. You need to enter the same email address as you use for your Capture One profile attached to your license. Alternatively, you can sign up at www.captureone.com/live to get access to the service.
After the signup, you might wait up to three business days before your email address is approved for the beta version of Capture One Live. You will be notified by email when you have been granted access to use it.
2. After you get access to the service, you can start using Capture One Live Beta. You can share either a folder or an album if you are working in a session or an album if you are working in a catalog.
Starting with Capture One 21 (14.4.0) the Capture One Live BETA tool has a new password field where the photographer can add a password for a shared session. Please keep in mind that your password is shown with dots, which is the most secure way, but it also means you have to remember which password you used.
NOTE: Smart albums are not supported.
3. Click on the Start Sharing button to initiate your sharing session.
4. When your sharing session begins, the start time and expiry time will display. Sharing Sessions will automatically expire after 24 hours.
5. To share your session, you have two options:
Send an email by clicking the email icon. Your default email client will open with a new email ready. In the email body, you can find the web address where the Sharing Session is available.
Use the link button to instantly copy the web address of your Sharing Session to your clipboard. You can then paste it where you need to share it.
IMPORTANT: Every shared session should have its own unique password and we kindly advise you to save it in the password manager if you use any. When you share the session link please share the session password as well.
To add a watermark to your shared images, simply go to the Exporter and add a watermark to one of your Export Recipes. Don't export your images, but make sure that the recipe is selected before you close the Export dialog. Then enable View > Recipe Proofing.
Read more about how to add a watermark in this article.
If the photographer used the password for the session, then after pasting the web address the reviewer will see an announcement that this session is protected and the password is required.
During the Sharing Session, the reviewer you are sharing with can view the photos in your chosen Folder or Collection. They can provide their feedback by star rating and color tagging the photos. The ratings added online will be transferred directly back to Capture One in real-time. Your reviewer can also click on a photo to view it on full screen. In the top right of the page, the reviewer can click the filter icon and filter the photos based on stars and color tags. By clicking on Follow, the reviewer online will follow the photo that the photographer last captured or edited. This is perfect if you want to focus on the latest photo the photographer added or updated and see the changes in real-time, especially during tethered sessions.
If you want to exit from the Follow mode, you need to exit the full screen by clicking the arrow in the top left corner of the screen or just pressing the Esc button.
The number of photos being displayed in the Sharing Session is automatically limited to improve performance. The most recent photos are always being displayed at the top of the page. If the photographer shares more than 28 photos, then the reviewer might need to click on the LOAD MORE button to load older photos.
Underneath each photo, there is an interactive section with the available stars and color tags. If someone has already rated or color tagged the photo, the reviewer can see their ratings and color tags. The reviewer can also rate or color tag any photo on the shared session and when it is done, ratings and tags will overwrite the existing values.
The Sharing Session ends either when its expiry time is reached, or when the photographer chooses to click on the Stop Sharing button within Capture One. Then all photos are removed from the Sharing Session and are no longer available.
Keep in mind that if Capture One is closed down while the Sharing Session is still active, Capture One needs to be launched again before the Session expires and you need to click Resume Sharing to avoid losing any ratings and color tags that were added to the meantime. In the password field, you will see defined at start time, so you still need to remember what exactly password you used for the current session.
Note: Enterprise users are supported starting from Capture One 21 (14.4.0).
To provide feedback about your experience or any issues you find with Capture One Live, please contact Support here or use the Rate your Experience button if you are in the session.
For more information, please check our Quick Start Guide