When you have created multiple variants of an image, either by making a copy of the original without adjustments applied (i.e., a New Variant) or a copy with adjustments (i.e., Clone Variant), Capture One always keeps the related image variants together in a variant group.
When selecting one of those image variants, for example, to form a part of an album, all of those in that group are also selected. In addition, when working on an image from a variant group, that image will be updated in every album and favorite that the variant group appears in. Moreover, when a variant is added to that variant group, that newly created variant will also instantly appear in each album or favorite.
Every time a variant is added to the group, the file name is shared and a number showing its position appears in the top right of the thumbnail in the Browser. The file name is also appended with the number in the Viewer. To save space, the variant group can be collapsed and the variant that’s displayed representing the variant group at position one is called the pick. Subsequently, all the references to a position are made in relation to the pick (it should not be confused with the primary variant). You can reorder, promote, or demote images in a variant group by dragging or by selecting Promote/Demote Variant from the menu. That order will also be reflected in every album or favorite. There is an exception to that rule, however. When one of the variants to be reordered is already selected in another album, then that particular variant group will not be updated with the new position.